Book reviews from Freedom Public Library users...
Click here to submit a review...

The most recent 25 reviews received, listed alphabetically by title...

7/21/2017
As Time Goes By - by Mary Higgins Clark
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookA mysterious death, the wife, charged, but is she guilty of murder? Who is responsible for providing the opioids that caused an overdose? Adopted at birth in an illegal baby selling scheme, can she find her biological parents? All these mysteries intertwine in Mary Higgins Clark's signature style.
Reviewed by: Gay from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)



7/21/2017
Behold the Dreamers - by Imbolo Mbue
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
BookThis novel really kept my interest, I could picture the characters in my mind due to the descriptive manner in which the author wrote. This is the story of a couple from Cameroon who come to the US in hopes of finding the American Dream. The husband takes a job as a chauffeur with an executive from Lehman Brothers right before the recession hits and at the time of the bailouts. The two families become intertwined beyond the work relationship and we see the struggles of two very different families as they strive for the dream. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/20/2017
Calico Joe - by John Grisham
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookI wasn't sure about this book and was pleasantly surprised. This was a break from Grisham's crime stories. I ended up liking most of the characters and learned something about the NY Mets and Chicago Cubs.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/20/2017
Engaging learners through artmaking. - by Katherine Douglas and Diane Jaquith
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
BookThis is the "go to" book for educatorrs who want to understand choice-based art instruction. This shares the philosophy and practical steps for setting up a art studio that gives students choice in their art-making while allowing the teacher to meet with students individually and talk about the artistic process and their growth as artists. Artistic behaviors are skills that students need to be successful in the 21st century. These skills promote higher order thinking, group collaboration, critique and articulation.
Reviewed by: Miriam from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/20/2017
Off The Grid - by CJ Box
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookThe stories about Joe Pickett and Nate Romanowski always hold my interest. This was no exception. I won't give away what happens but just to say, "Be careful who you trust!"
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/20/2017
Out of the Ashes - by Michael Morpurgo
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookChildren's author, Morpurgo, wrote this book in the form of a diary. This book chronicles th devastating outbreak of Foot and Mouth disease that ravaged farms across the United Kingdom. It tells the story through th eyes of a young teenage farm girl. Her farm loses cattle and sheep in the outbreak. It is a good read and well suited for older elementary and middle school age youth.
Reviewed by: Miriam from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/19/2017
Go Set A Watchman - by Harper Lee
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookStory line is Scout is grown up and comes back to Alabama on vacation from New York City to find that she is challenged emotionally in dealing with the shift in racial tensions and beliefs of her family and friends; especially those of her aging father whom she had idealized. Setting is the early 1950s and the impact of the NAACP is just starting to be seen. The phrase "go set a watchman" is a biblical quote and Scout feels she needs watchman to interpret what men say. Some parts of the book are funny; such as the coffee gathering at her family home where stereotypical Southern women gossip and Scout eavesdrops on their conversations. Listened to the book on CD as read by Reese Witherspoon.
Reviewed by: Lauren from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/19/2017
Kisses from Katie - by Katie Davis
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
BookExtraordinary true story of a 19 year old girl who forgoes college and marriage in order to be a kindergarten teacher at an orphanage in Africa and through the process ends up adopting 16 girls herself!!!
Reviewed by: Karen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/19/2017
Most Wanted - by Lisa Scottoline
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookAfter struggling with infertility, a couple decides to use a sperm donor. Excited for the arrival of their new baby, they come to suspect that their donor might be a serial killer who was just arrested for killing three nurses. The husband and wife react very differently to this possibility, but they both want to know the truth.
Reviewed by: Gay from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/19/2017
Nemesis - by Catherine Coulter
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookA husband and wife, both FBI agents, investigate two separate crimes. Lacey Sherlock foils a terrorist at the airport only to discover a bigger plan for terror in the US. Her husband, Dillon Savich, tries to find a "puppet master" who can seemingly control people to do his bidding including murder.
Reviewed by: Gay from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/18/2017
A Piece of the World - by Christina Baker Kline
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookThe author of Orphan Train has written a beautiful fictionalized story of the friendship between painter Andrew Wyeth and the young girl, Christina, in the famous painting, Christina's World.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/18/2017
Anything is Possible - by Elizabeth Strout
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
Book9 short stories set in Amgash, IL, this is a continuation of the author's popular second novel, My Name is Lucy Barton. The reader now sees what many of the characters are doing as adults. Lucy, a successful author, makes an appearance.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/18/2017
Deep Freeze - by Lisa Jackson
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
BookA well written page turner, had me reading every spare minute I had, and upon finishing it I got the next book by Lisa Jackson right away!
Reviewed by: Janet from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/18/2017
Devotion - by Adam Makos
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
BookWow! Are there more than 5 stars?? This is the true story of two navy pilots, one the first African American carrier pilot in the Navy. Their story and the stories of the marines they protected will likely never leave you. After reading of the sacrifice and conditions these heroes endured, that this is called the "The Forgotten War" is amazing. I agree with the argument that it could have easily been called WW III. READ THIS BOOK! Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/18/2017
I will Find You - by Joanna Connors
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
BookThis powerful memoir is about the author's rape (pretty graphically portrayed) and how it impacted every aspect of her life. A reporter, she decides to investigate the life of the man who raped her in the hope that it will help her understand the act and the impact it had on her. What follows is brave, thought provoking, surprising and challenging to say the least. This book will stay with you. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/18/2017
The Identicals - by Elin Hilderbrand
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookThis is a great summer beach read. The story is about identical twin sisters. One lives on Nantucket and the other on Martha's Vineyard. They have been estranged for years. The story takes many turns and it's a page turner!
Reviewed by: Kim from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/18/2017
The Liar's Diary - by Patry Francis
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookA page turner! Family or friendship...This story shows how far a woman will go to protect either.
Reviewed by: Kim from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/17/2017
A Beautiful, Terrible Thing - by Jen Waite
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
BookDeception, intrigue, betrayal. It's like in a movie when the bad guy is hiding in the closet and you want to scream, "Don't open the closet door!" that's how I felt about Marco....a loser from the get go but no one but you seems to see it! I didn't realize this was a memoir until I went to look up the author. I'd love to know how the story turned out in real life. Did Jen become a therapist? Where did they end up living? What happened with Marco? Was Louisa a real character? Maybe there will be a sequel.
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/16/2017
Hold Tight - by Harlen Coben
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
BookHold Tight is another terrific thriller by Harlen Coben. This story is about how far parents will go to protect their kids. If you think your teenager is in trouble, do you begin to invade their privacy? Coben deals with that questions in this novel. Great read.
Reviewed by: Sharon from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/16/2017
Private Berlin - by James Patterson and Mark Sullivan
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookThis is a very powerful book. The beginning of the book had me questioning whether I really wanted to read it, but I soon was into it. Definitely a thriller and suspenseful!
Reviewed by: Samdy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/16/2017
The Long Haul - by Finn Murphy
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
BookThis is a look at long haul trucking across North America. It is such an interesting story filled with odd info on tollbooths, diners, road conditions, and is a wealth of information on the hierarchy of the trucking world. I have a newfound respect for the trucking world, particularly the moving trucker world. The ending is perfect.
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/16/2017
The One-in-a-Milllion Boy - by Monica Wood
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookThis is a story of an 11 year old special boy who has an enormous influence on the adults in his life. 104 year old Ona Vitkus hires the boy to help her out and gets a new lease on life. And the boy's parents also must learn to deal with loss and find themselves at last. Definitely worth a read.
Reviewed by: Sharon from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/16/2017
Trainwreck - by Sandy doylr
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
BookI loved this book! Funny, smart writing about women who didn't "behave" and how they are/were punished, centuries ago and now up to the age of Twitter and Instagram. Sexism and misogyny and how they still define us explained in terrific essays about lots of women from Charlotte Bronte to Britney Spears to Hillary Clinton.
Reviewed by: Peg from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/16/2017
Troublemaker - by Leah Remini
Three Star Rating       NonFiction -
BookInformative, interesting. But definitely has the spin of the author's personality and attitudes. Otherwise worth reading, insightful and eye opening.
Reviewed by: Karen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


7/14/2017
A Week in Winter - by Maeve Binchy
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
BookGreat character development well woven around a week of strangers (with issues) vacationing at an inn.
Reviewed by: Flo from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Fiction Reviews - Sorted by Title

12 Sharp - Janet Evanovich
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Stephanie Plum is a bounty hunter who encounters all kinds of characters in this humorous and fun novel. I have found myself laughing aloud while reading this book. A light beach read. Ms. Evanovich's novels are entertaining.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)



A Delicate Truth - John Le Carre
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Vintage Le Carre but with a sense of sadness with its distaste for the modern vagaries of war.
Reviewed by: Madlyn from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


A Man Called Ove - Fredrik Blackman
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- It took me awhile to get into the book, but once I did I really enjoyed it. There is some repetition as if chapters were written individually and the author had to keep reminding the reader of certain facts. I think it is a book that I'll think back on and reflect on over time.
Reviewed by: Sherry from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


A Piece of the World - Christina Kline Baker
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- This was interesting only because I am an Andrew Wyeth fan. I really don't know how much this book actually mirrored the life of Christina Olson. I guess I have decided that I don't really care for books based on what the author thinks the historical figure may have done or said or been like. I like the real thing. If you liked 'Orphan Train' you might like this.
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


A Piece of the World - Christina Baker Kline
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- The author of Orphan Train has written a beautiful fictionalized story of the friendship between painter Andrew Wyeth and the young girl, Christina, in the famous painting, Christina's World.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


A Spool of Blue Thread - Anne Tyler
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- I have to write this review before I forget the book. I'd likely give this 2.5 stars as its nothing that is likely going to stay with the reader after they finish it. This was a book that my mom passed along and it really is pretty uneventful, but a nice distraction for a day or two. Follows a family throughout several generations and questions family decisions, relationships etc. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


A Week in Winter - Maeve Binchy
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Great character development well woven around a week of strangers (with issues) vacationing at an inn.
Reviewed by: Flo from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Anybody Out There. - Marian Keyes
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- I like this author who is from Ireland. This book was set in NYC and Dublin. The story revolves around the Walsh sisters and all their shenanigans. Parts were very sad, some funny, but mainly it is about love and losing love. It was a quick read.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Anything is Possible - Elizabeth Strout
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Same spare writing style providing some back stories of the characters from "my name is Lucy Barton". Lucy herself is main character. Lovely book
Reviewed by: Peg from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Anything is Possible - Elizabeth Strout
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- 9 short stories set in Amgash, IL, this is a continuation of the author's popular second novel, My Name is Lucy Barton. The reader now sees what many of the characters are doing as adults. Lucy, a successful author, makes an appearance.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


As Time Goes By - Mary Higgins Clark
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- A mysterious death, the wife, charged, but is she guilty of murder? Who is responsible for providing the opioids that caused an overdose? Adopted at birth in an illegal baby selling scheme, can she find her biological parents? All these mysteries intertwine in Mary Higgins Clark's signature style.
Reviewed by: Gay from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Beautiful Dreamer - Elizabeth Lowell
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- A wonderful love story between two opposites. It develops out of desperation for something else entirely. Ms. Lowell keeps your interest in her books. I have read others by her too. Living in the desert myself for many years, I could relate to their water (lack of) problem.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Before We Were Yours - Lisa Wingate
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- What a story! Two families, generations apart are forever changed by Georgia Tann and her Tennessee Children's Home Society. Based on a true story, I recommend the reader "Google" both the person and the society for background before reading the book. Just amazing and is incredibly sad that this existed. So glad the author has brought thi to Iight.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Behold the Dreamers - Imbolo Mbue
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- This novel really kept my interest, I could picture the characters in my mind due to the descriptive manner in which the author wrote. This is the story of a couple from Cameroon who come to the US in hopes of finding the American Dream. The husband takes a job as a chauffeur with an executive from Lehman Brothers right before the recession hits and at the time of the bailouts. The two families become intertwined beyond the work relationship and we see the struggles of two very different families as they strive for the dream. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Beneath a Scarlett Sky - Mark Sullivan
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This was based on a true story of a young (16 yrs when we first meet him)Italian during WWII who helps smuggle Jews out of Italy - and then works as a spy for the Resistance and Allies giving information on military placements, etc. Very readable
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Blink - Malcolm Gladwell
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Talk about thin slicing and adaptive conscious. New ways of thinking were in some instances too much. Information in decision-making just muddies the water. Love Malcolm Gladwell books.
Reviewed by: Flo from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Blood and Beauty - Sarah Dunant
Three Star Rating       Fiction - Historical Fiction
- With so many geo-political papal details to cover, Blood and Beauty suffers somewhat from an excess of historical reporting, so that the personal dramas of the narrative lack the compelling momentum of Dunant's other novels exploring the intersection of private life and papal power in 15-16th century Italian life.
Reviewed by: Sylvie from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Borderline - Nevada Barr
One Star Rating       Fiction -
- Hated this book! Didn't connect with this author. Forced myself to read it to the end. Main character had post-traumatic stress disorder- so did the author!
Reviewed by: Lorraine from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Calico Joe - John Grisham
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- I wasn't sure about this book and was pleasantly surprised. This was a break from Grisham's crime stories. I ended up liking most of the characters and learned something about the NY Mets and Chicago Cubs.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Calling Invisible Women - Jeanne Ray
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Calling Invisible Women was a fun book with great imagination mixed with some reality. Clover, a woman in her early 50's becomes "invisible,"...not the invisible women get as they mature, but really invisible...and her family DOESN'T NOTICE. I really enjoyed the story as it unfolded and she adjusts to her new life. Lots of humor, especially when she finds she in not alone in her current "condition," and lessons learned.
Reviewed by: Deanna from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Camino Island - John Grisham
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- Not the usual Grisham Book - not about lawyers but somewhat interesting. One good thing about it is that it's 100 fewer pages - he seems to have a new editor.
Reviewed by: Irene from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Chaos - Patricia Cornwell
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Set Cambridge, Massachusetts. Once again, Kay Scarpetta's job as a medical examiner puts her life and reputation at risk while investigating murders that are seemingly unconnected. Her FBI husband is also drawn into the investigation.
Reviewed by: Gay from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Cold Harbour - Jack Higgins
Two Star Rating       Fiction -
- WWII spy story, quite surprising. Just about everybody dies. Traitors and Patriots struggle in occupied France
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Commonwealth - Ann Patchett
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- A story about what happens when marriages end and new relationships develop. This follows the Cousins and Keating families and the repercussions on subsequent generations of both families. Somewhat difficult to keep track of who belonged to which family as each generation matured and started their own families.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Cross My Heart - Patterson
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Excellent as always, but was a little put off with the prologue as it felt that it kept focusing on the end rather than the story as it progressed.
Reviewed by: Melissa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Deep Freeze - Lisa Jackson
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- A well written page turner, had me reading every spare minute I had, and upon finishing it I got the next book by Lisa Jackson right away!
Reviewed by: Janet from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Engaging learners through artmaking. - Katherine Douglas and Diane Jaquith
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- This is the "go to" book for educatorrs who want to understand choice-based art instruction. This shares the philosophy and practical steps for setting up a art studio that gives students choice in their art-making while allowing the teacher to meet with students individually and talk about the artistic process and their growth as artists. Artistic behaviors are skills that students need to be successful in the 21st century. These skills promote higher order thinking, group collaboration, critique and articulation.
Reviewed by: Miriam from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Fast Track - Fern Michaels
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- This was an OK book. It was about members of the sisiterhood getting together again to get justice for crimes that have gone unpunished by the legal system.
Reviewed by: Kathy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


First Strike - Ben Coes
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- I love Vince Flynn. This author is on his way to that type of adventure.
Reviewed by: Madlyn from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Force of Nature - CJ Box
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- "Force of Nature"--another action-packed novel by C.J. Box of Joe Pickett & Nate Romanowski, whose true friendship and never-ending faith know they have each other's back. You also learn snippets of how to challenge life in an unforgiving woods. Also, the info on the peregrine falcon was intense. Flying at 200 miles an hour to catch their prey, it's written so you can almost feel the impact on contact!
Reviewed by: Lorraine from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Go Set A Watchman - Harper Lee
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Story line is Scout is grown up and comes back to Alabama on vacation from New York City to find that she is challenged emotionally in dealing with the shift in racial tensions and beliefs of her family and friends; especially those of her aging father whom she had idealized. Setting is the early 1950s and the impact of the NAACP is just starting to be seen. The phrase "go set a watchman" is a biblical quote and Scout feels she needs watchman to interpret what men say. Some parts of the book are funny; such as the coffee gathering at her family home where stereotypical Southern women gossip and Scout eavesdrops on their conversations. Listened to the book on CD as read by Reese Witherspoon.
Reviewed by: Lauren from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Good Grief - lolly Winston
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- I really enjoyed this novel about a young widow and her journey after her husband passes. The author interjects humor into a tragedy. I stayed up late one night to finish this book and to see what happens to Sophie.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Guilty - Karen Robards
Two Star Rating       Fiction -
- A thriller with a good story line but a bit repetitive in text. Entertains like a long episode of Law and Order. An everyone lives happily ever after ending.
Reviewed by: Lauren from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Hearts in Atlantis - Stephen King
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- A compelling exploration of what can be known, understood, hidden and revealed in personal and societal histories through the eyes of a characteristically gripping cast of King characters.
Reviewed by: Sylvie from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Her Father's House - Belva Plain
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Wonderful story about a father who makes an agonizing decision to save his daughter and how their lives drastically change. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Her Final Breath - Robert Dugoni
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- This is the second book in the Tracy Crosswhite series. Kept me guessing. Cant wait to start the next book in the series.
Reviewed by: Sherry from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Hold Tight - Harlen Coben
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Hold Tight is another terrific thriller by Harlen Coben. This story is about how far parents will go to protect their kids. If you think your teenager is in trouble, do you begin to invade their privacy? Coben deals with that questions in this novel. Great read.
Reviewed by: Sharon from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Into the Water - Paula Hawkins
Four Star Rating       Fiction - Thriller
- A must read. The beginning was a bit slow going, I thought, but after the first few chapters, I got caught up in the story and the suspense of it.
Reviewed by: Samdy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Lilac Girls - Martha Kelly
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Wonderful story of 3 women during WWII. One lives in USA, one in Poland, & one in Germany.
Reviewed by: Andi from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Lisette's List - Susan Vreeland
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- A fascinating story about a young woman who loses her husband in WWII and her life before and after the war. It is set in France and her search for paintings by famous artists that were owned by a relative.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


London Bridges - James Patterson
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Suspenseful, kept me riveted, good Read!
Reviewed by: Donald from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Manuscript Found In Accra - Paulo Coelho
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Following my read of The Alchemist, I picked up this book by same author. This was so much better than his famous The Alchemist. This is a book that I would re-read frequently. It is a how to live life advice book couched in a novel about the teachings found in an ancient papyrus scroll. I listened to it on CD read by Jeremy Irons which made it a great listen. I would purchase this book and use a highlighter for favorite passages.
Reviewed by: Lauren from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Missing ( Private Novel) - James Patterson and Kathryn Fox
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This is one of the Private Series, this one takes place in Sydney with multiple missing people, and how they find the truth that some people don't want to know... and scary truths.. Interesting Private book but not one of the better ones... drags in places..
Reviewed by: Deborah from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Mississippi Blood - Greg Isles
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- While this is the last book in the trilogy it was just as interesting and made you want to not put it down. Worth reading the whole trilogy!!
Reviewed by: Patricia from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Moonlight Mile - Dennis Lehane
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Dennis Lehane does it again. An action filled story about a girl gone missing for a second time. Noone seems to know where she is. The search for her is encompassed by drugs and a Russian baby ring. The private investigator and his wife insert a loving playfulness into the story. I found this heartwarming amid some very gory killing.
Reviewed by: Lorraine from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Moonlight Mile - Dennis Lehane
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- One of my favorite authors. Follow up to his Gone, Baby, Gone. A lot more violent than the first as the Russian Mob was involved. Well written. I listened on CDs and story was read by an actor with a really good Boston accent. Wonder if this will be the last in the find Amanda series; probably not as Amanda is only 16 in this book.
Reviewed by: Lauren from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Most Wanted - Lisa Scottoline
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- After struggling with infertility, a couple decides to use a sperm donor. Excited for the arrival of their new baby, they come to suspect that their donor might be a serial killer who was just arrested for killing three nurses. The husband and wife react very differently to this possibility, but they both want to know the truth.
Reviewed by: Gay from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


My (not so) Perfect Life - Sophie Kinsella
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Light hearted, entertaining, fast moving. Just a fun read.
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


My Foolish Heart - Susan MAy Warren
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- A nice Christian-based love story that also has messages about overcoming adversity and keeping faith. Believe in yourself and the power of love.
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


My Sister's Grave - Robert Dugoni
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Another great book from Robert Dugoni. This is the first full book in his Tracy Crosswhite series. The book focuses on the mystery surrounding her sister's disappearance 20 years before rather than on a case associated with her job as a homicide detective in Seattle. As with the other Dugoni books I've read there are a number of surprising twists and turns in the story.
Reviewed by: Merrow from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


My Sister's Keeper - Jodi Picoult
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book shows a family who have two healthy children and one very sick daughter who is battling leukemia. Anna, her sister, was genetically conceived to help her sister by donating bone marrow, platelets, and eventually expected to donate a kidney. I can see Sara's point in that she wants to save her child. But, I can understand Anna's wish to make her own decision about this matter and agree with her emancipation. She respected Kate's wishes that she didn't want Anna to donate a kidney. Kate was tired of living. I feel Anna would have donated her kidney had she not been killed in a car accident. Ultimately her kidney went to Kate and Anna died.
Reviewed by: Barbara from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Nemesis - Catherine Coulter
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- A husband and wife, both FBI agents, investigate two separate crimes. Lacey Sherlock foils a terrorist at the airport only to discover a bigger plan for terror in the US. Her husband, Dillon Savich, tries to find a "puppet master" who can seemingly control people to do his bidding including murder.
Reviewed by: Gay from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Night School - Lee Child
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This Jack Reacher thriller takes place in Germany during 1996. The twist and turns of an AWOL soldier starts an American investigation of death and treason. Lee Child really holds your attention with his descriptions..that makes you feel part of the suspense. Of course, Jack Reacher always gets his revenge and his man!
Reviewed by: Lorraine from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Night School - Lee Child
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Jack Reacher wins again! Another well-written episode of this exciting action series.
Reviewed by: Dann from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Off The Grid - CJ Box
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- The stories about Joe Pickett and Nate Romanowski always hold my interest. This was no exception. I won't give away what happens but just to say, "Be careful who you trust!"
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Out of the Ashes - Michael Morpurgo
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Children's author, Morpurgo, wrote this book in the form of a diary. This book chronicles th devastating outbreak of Foot and Mouth disease that ravaged farms across the United Kingdom. It tells the story through th eyes of a young teenage farm girl. Her farm loses cattle and sheep in the outbreak. It is a good read and well suited for older elementary and middle school age youth.
Reviewed by: Miriam from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


POSTCARDS - Annie Proulx
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- POSTCARDS is the story of a New England farm family suffering through the loss of the small family farm beginning in the 20th century. Certainly the story expresses sadness but also conveys the sense of family, of desperation and the struggle to survive. This book is Annie Proulx's first novel and winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award. Her writing is the best and worth a read.
Reviewed by: Sharon from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Private - James Patterson and Maxine Paetro
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- "Private" is the first book in this series. I have read a lot of Patterson's books, and this one did not disappoint me. Several cases were being investigated at the same time, so I was definitely caught up in the book!
Reviewed by: Sandy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Private #1 Suspect - James Patterson and Maxine Paetro
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Another great book by Patterson and Paetro. It kept me reading from the start. I was not ready for it to end, though. Time to start the next one in the series.
Reviewed by: Sandy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Private Berlin - James Patterson and Mark Sullivan
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This is a very powerful book. The beginning of the book had me questioning whether I really wanted to read it, but I soon was into it. Definitely a thriller and suspenseful!
Reviewed by: Samdy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Private Games - James Patterson and Mark Sullivan
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- After having read the Prologue, I wasn't sure that I would enjoy the book, because it was a little twisted. I did continue reading it, though, and I found myself caught up in it. It certainly was an action packed thriller.
Reviewed by: Sandy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Private London - James Patterson and Mark Pearson
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book takes us to London for the action, which I enjoyed. Having traveled there before, some of the towns were familiar to me. Although I liked this book, I was not as into it as his other books.
Reviewed by: Sandy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Ready Player One - Ernest Cline
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Ready Player One is the dystopian take on an American future in which every bit of 80s geek trivia comes into play as our protagonist attempts to solve the ultimate virtual reality MMORPG puzzle!
Reviewed by: Sylvie from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Rose in a Storm - Jon Katz
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Wonderful book. The world as seen through the eyes of a working farm dog. Katz is a great story teller.
Reviewed by: Sandi from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Scent of Rain and Lightning - Nancy Pickard
Five Star Rating       Fiction - Mystery
- Surprisingly great- mystery with lots of family secrets and lots of family love. Super writing.
Reviewed by: Madlyn from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Short Straw - Stuart Woods
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Mystery- a new author for me- Fun to read with a very satisfying conclusion steeped in a good sense of justice.
Reviewed by: Madlyn from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Some One Knows my Name - Lawrence Hill
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Excellent read about a 14 year old girl captured and brought to South Carolina as a slave. The story of her life as a slave and when she escaped and had freedom.
Reviewed by: Sue from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Sound of Rain and Lightning - Nancy Pickard
One Star Rating       Fiction -
- Surprisingly great- mystery with lots of family secrets and lots of family love. Super writing.
Reviewed by: Madlyn from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Strangers in Budapest - jessica keener
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- A story of a modern day couple who move to Budapest for a start up. There are so many directions this book could have gone, but didn't. It alludes to a kidnapping (and they have just adopted a baby), it alludes to the fate of the gypsies in the city (but then takes you nowhere with it), it alludes to the adoption agency taking the baby (but it doesn't), it alludes to Hungary's role in the Nazi occupation (but not enough where you actually learn anything). In the end, it was a bit shallow.
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Superstition - Karen Robards
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- I liked the setting, Pawley's Island, South Carolina. When I started the book, wasn't sure I would continue. Psychic material isn't my thing but I was already into the book. So I continued and ended up liking it.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Thank You For Being Late - Thomas Friedman
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Friedman's readable explanations of 21st century forces shaping the way we live: Globalization, climate change and yes TECHNOLOGY. It's hard to take it all in. We're living in an age of profound change. Worth reading this book.
Reviewed by: peg from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Alchemist - Paulo Coelho
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Selected this book as I saw an interview Oprah did with the author; she called it her favorite book. A simple but prophetic tale of a boy's challenges and discoveries while following his dream. I listened to the book on CD read by Jeremy Irons which made it very enjoyable.
Reviewed by: Lauren from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Birth of Venus - Sarah Dunant
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Lush with details of the political and domestic world of Italy int he 15th century, "Birth of Venus" follows the passions and struggles of an artist with the misfortune to be born a woman into a society that accepts women only as the objects of art, not as the subjects of their own stories.
Reviewed by: Sylvie from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Blood of Emmett Till - Timothy Tyson
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- I really enjoyed this difficult book. It really is a book and a case that everyone should be familiar with. This heinous crime of the lynching of a 14 year old black child in the south followed by a travesty of justice brought about the modern day civil rights movement. We can thank the brave mother of Emmett Till, Mamie Bradley, for bringing it to the forefront when she insisted young Emmett's casket be open during his viewing. As a mother, she is a hero. I could have done without the lecture at the end. I understand that people invoked Emmett Till's name during the Michael Brown incident. Michael Brown was not Emmett Till. Read this book. It will stay with you. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Boy On The Wooden Box - Leon Leyson
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book was recommended to me by a colleague. I had both read and seen the movie of "Schindler's List" years ago, and I was totally caught up with the story. Having read this book from a child's perspective, it gave me more insight to what the Jews went through. I highly recommend it.
Reviewed by: Sandy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Conviction - Robert Dugoni
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book in the 5th book in the David Sloane series. It is a fast paced mystery with lots of twists and turns.
Reviewed by: Sherry from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Ethical Assassin - David Liss
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- Questions about ethical actions in sharing values regarding killing, jailing, harm to animals, and other in a mystery. A young lad selling encyclopedias inadvertently becomes involved in a major drug plot.
Reviewed by: Flo from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Frozen Hours - Jeff Shaara
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- An excellent retell of the remarkable 1st Marine Division in Korea and their into and out of the Chosun Reservoir in North Korea, Gen. O.P. Smith, Col. Chesty Paller- a famous actual US Marine tale.
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Hours - Michael Cunningham
Two Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book intrigued me. It's supposed to be a masterpiece but I didn't see it. Continuing to read it, I finally gave up half way through.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Hungry Ocean - Linda Greenlaw
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- I heard about this author from a segment on NH Chronicles recently. Both my husband and I are very familiar with the ocean; in fact, my husband has his Captain's License for the ocean, so the terminology used in this book was very familiar. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, reading about the prep days before the big catches. A great read!
Reviewed by: Sandy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Identicals - Elin Hilderbrand
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This is a great summer beach read. The story is about identical twin sisters. One lives on Nantucket and the other on Martha's Vineyard. They have been estranged for years. The story takes many turns and it's a page turner!
Reviewed by: Kim from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Keepsake - Tess Gerritsen
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Love her stories. This one didn't disappoint... was guessing until the end.
Reviewed by: Melissa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Last Mile - David Baldacci
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book is number 2 in the Amos Decker (Memory Man) series. It was a good mystery. Decker is an interesting character. He has several conditions resulting from head trauma. One of which is a perfect memory. He remembers everything. In this book he is part of an FBI task force.
Reviewed by: Sherry from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Liar's Diary - Patry Francis
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- A page turner! Family or friendship...This story shows how far a woman will go to protect either.
Reviewed by: Kim from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Long Black Veil - JF Boylan
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- A sort of mystery that explores how personal histories affect sense of self. I did not enjoy it as much as I have others by Boylan!
Reviewed by: Judy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Lucky One - Nicholas Sparks
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- I had given up reading him once before and now I'm going to give him up again. He seems to ALWAYS tell off someone in the last few pages whether the story needs it or not!
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The One-in-a-Million Boy - Monica Wood
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- EXCELLENT An unexpected story of multi-generational joy tinged with a touch of pathos. Loved it.
Reviewed by: Madlyn from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The One-in-a-Milllion Boy - Monica Wood
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This is a story of an 11 year old special boy who has an enormous influence on the adults in his life. 104 year old Ona Vitkus hires the boy to help her out and gets a new lease on life. And the boy's parents also must learn to deal with loss and find themselves at last. Definitely worth a read.
Reviewed by: Sharon from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The People We Hate at the Wedding - Grant Ginder
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book was hilarious. Does get into homosexual acts which I had no issue with whatsoever but some people may be offended and should have the heads up.
Reviewed by: Melissa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Shack - Wm Paul Young
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- A moving novel of a man and his family's devastating loss of the youngest daughter by a serial killer. It tells of the experience the father has -- as he learns to face his beliefs in God. It challenges you to understand God's plan of mercy, love, hope and healing without being patronizing. This story has affected me in places I've never been before. It also taught me that I must forgive to be free...but I don't have to forget.
Reviewed by: Lorraine from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Stars Are Fire - Anita Shreve
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This was an interesting read. About a family and the fire that destroy their homes, family and lives. The fire takes the land in Maine right down to the ocean. How the mother and her family survives and starting new lives keeps you involved.
Reviewed by: Irene from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Sunshine Sisters - Jane Green
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Loved this book and the way it was presented. Enjoyed that it wasn't all happy endings but real life.
Reviewed by: Melissa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The technologists - Matthew Pearl
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Very interesting mystery involving the original MIT institution and its first science students.
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Trapped Girl - Robert Dugoni
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Story featuring detective Tracy Crosswhite. It has suspense and conspiracy- with many twists and turns- plus the climactic ending you hoped for. I can't wait to read his other novels!
Reviewed by: Lorraine from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Weight of Ink - Rachel Kiddish
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- My husband and I both thought this book was extraordinary. It is told in two time periods, centuries apart. And it combines a fascinating story of mid 17th century Europe with a look into the fascination of scholarly archival investigations of today. Long (560 pages)but worth every word.
Reviewed by: Marsha from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Winter Sea - Susanna Kearsley
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Fan fiction - a story in a story of two women, a winter storyteller and a female relative of hers from the 1700s - and James VIII attempt to return as Scottish King.
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Woman in Cabin 10 - Ruth Ware
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- Mystery thriller about a journalist trapped for one week on a luxury cruise. Thinking she hears a young woman being killed and thrown overboard- her nightmare turns out with her nearly being killed but with twists and turns in the plot- she is nearly killed herse4lf. Love the last page!
Reviewed by: Lorraine from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Woman Next Door - Barbara Delinsky
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- I liked this novel about three couples and the widow next door. They all seem to have problems (as we all do) and it was interesting to see how they solved them. This book had a twist ending which I liked. I have read a lot of her books and they are usually great.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Three Junes - Julia Glass
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- I gave this novel 3.5 stars. The writing was beautiful and the characters and their relationships were very complex. The book looks at different members and generations of a Scottish family during three Junes that are ten years apart. If it was not for the third and final June, I may have rated the book higher. The last part just didn't flow and caused the book to end abruptly. If you like novels about complex familial and romantic relationships, this book is for you. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Trade Winds - M M Kaye
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Nice adventure 1800's Zanzibar- lots of trials and tribulations for the heroine.
Reviewed by: Gere from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Visions of Sugar Plums - Janet Evanovich
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- As you can tell from the title, this is a holiday story. Stephanie Plum is at it again with all her hilarious antics. This time she has a new character, Diesel. He adds some fun and frivolity to the story.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Void Moon - Michael Connelly
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- I am a big Michael Connelly fan and have read most of his Harry Bosch and Micky Haller books. Void Moon is one of his earlier books and is not part of a series. The main character of this mystery is Cassie Black an ex-con. Initially the book focuses on Cassie's background and you wonder where the book it going. Then the twists and turns start. The book kept me guessing.
Reviewed by: Sherry from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Voyage of the heart - Soraya Lane
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- Second book I've read from this author. This one about war brides. Although typical romance in many ways, it does make one think of what it must have been like to leave home and family, travel across the sea and spend life with a husband who you barely knew .
Reviewed by: jean from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


What Alice Forgot - Liane Moriarty
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book was very heartwarming. Reading Alice's journey back to normality showed us all that sometimes we get stuck in our own ways and it's never too late to start over or fix what's broken. This book will keep your eyes peeled, page after page.
Reviewed by: Tessa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


When the Emperor was Divine - Julie Otsuka
Four Star Rating       Fiction -
- Follows a Japanese family, who, during WWII, were sent to an internment camp and how they were able to rise above the humiliation of simply being born Japanese in the US.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Whiskey Beach - Nora Roberts
Five Star Rating       Fiction -
- Wonderful novel based loosely in Maine. A story about love, family, murder, intrigue and mystery. I especially liked the descriptive settings.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Wife for Hire - Janet Evanovich
Three Star Rating       Fiction -
- This book was just too predictable. As the title indicates - a story about a woman who marries her boss because he needs to be married for some crazy business reason. She needs the money, etc. not the best book I've read from her.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


X (Kinsey Milhone Book 24) - Sue Grafton
Five Star Rating       Fiction - Mystery
- If you like mysteries and haven't read any of the Kinsey Milhone mysteries- A is for Alibi, B is for Burglar...P is for Peril... through X, I'm jealous. You have 24 good reads ahead of you and a new one, Y is for Yesterday, is coming in August. Kinsey Milhone, single spunky woman (twice divorced), private detective in Santa Teresa, CA, who goes about solving murder and mayhem, in the 80s before proliferation of cell phones and PCs. Nice cast of characters, creative plotting, unexpected endings and always a point well made. Like one and you will like them all.
Reviewed by: Barbara from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


NonFiction Reviews - Sorted by Title

A Beautiful, Terrible Thing- Jen Waite
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Deception, intrigue, betrayal. It's like in a movie when the bad guy is hiding in the closet and you want to scream, "Don't open the closet door!" that's how I felt about Marco....a loser from the get go but no one but you seems to see it! I didn't realize this was a memoir until I went to look up the author. I'd love to know how the story turned out in real life. Did Jen become a therapist? Where did they end up living? What happened with Marco? Was Louisa a real character? Maybe there will be a sequel.
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)



Between Them- Richard Ford
Three Star Rating       NonFiction - Memoir
- Poignant memoir about parents written 30 years apart. Father died young when Ford was 16, then mother died in 1981. His memories involve a lot of guessing. The story is kind of ordinary, but lovely writing.
Reviewed by: Peg from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Boy Erased- A Memoir of Identity, Death and Family- Garrard Conley
Three Star Rating       NonFiction -
- I really wanted to love this book as it is such a brave topic. Conley's memoir is about growing up in the south to deeply religious parents and coming out to them after a sexual assault. The author's father is a Baptist minister and in his faith, being gay is a grievous sin. His parents send him to conversion therapy in the hope that they can "cure" him. The storyline was very compelling but I found the writing and the story to be quite vague. I did find that I appreciated the book more after I finished it. The message of the damage the therapy did to the author and countless others came through loud and clear. Maybe I didn't need all the details after all. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Countdown to Pearl Harbor- Steve Twomey
Three Star Rating       NonFiction -
- This was a hard one to get into. Spent the first quarter or more doing random character development.
Reviewed by: Melissa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Devotion- Adam Makos
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Wow! Are there more than 5 stars?? This is the true story of two navy pilots, one the first African American carrier pilot in the Navy. Their story and the stories of the marines they protected will likely never leave you. After reading of the sacrifice and conditions these heroes endured, that this is called the "The Forgotten War" is amazing. I agree with the argument that it could have easily been called WW III. READ THIS BOOK! Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Epic of Gilgamesh Poem- Various
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Book written 3,000 years before Christ in Uruk. Amazingly beautiful lyric writing. It includes the earliest version of the Flood Story.
Reviewed by: Edna from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Every Day is a Holiday- George Mahood
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- This is a young British writer who embarks upon a journey to celebrate all of those "holidays" people create that have seemingly no meaning but he takes them to heart and journals about his adventure in holidays. Additionally he gives himself others goals such as "eat ham in a different way every day for a month", etc. It's fun to read. He has a young family so it includes their funny observations. Very cute story. Am just beginning the sequel which journals the second half of the year doing the same stuff but all new holidays. Read this author! He is great!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


I will Find You- Joanna Connors
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
- This powerful memoir is about the author's rape (pretty graphically portrayed) and how it impacted every aspect of her life. A reporter, she decides to investigate the life of the man who raped her in the hope that it will help her understand the act and the impact it had on her. What follows is brave, thought provoking, surprising and challenging to say the least. This book will stay with you. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Killers of the Flower Moon- David Grann
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- I knew I was going to enjoy this book after I read all the authors' praise on the back. Erik Larson and Jon Krakauer? I am in! This is the true crime story of the countless murders of members of the Osage Indian Nation in the earlier part of the 20th century. The Osage Nation was extremely wealthy as a result of oil found on their reservation. Due to the laws of the US at the time, they were deemed not competent to handle their own funds. The result, a rampant betrayal of trust by friends and loved ones and widespread corruption in the government. The fledgling FBI under Hoover took on the case and the author tries to tidy up some of the loose ends 100 years later. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders & the Birth of the FBI- David Grann
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
- 1920's - the Osage nation of Oklahoma were considered the richest people per capital in the world. Once oil was discovered, mysteriously, the Osage started to be killed off or died under mysterious circumstances. Subsequent investigations followed by the newly formed FBI. A little known part of American history, this is a shocking indictment on the prejudice toward American Indians.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Kisses from Katie - Katie Davis
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Extraordinary true story of a 19 year old girl who forgoes college and marriage in order to be a kindergarten teacher at an orphanage in Africa and through the process ends up adopting 16 girls herself!!!
Reviewed by: Karen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Kisses from Katie- Katie Davis
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- This is an amazing book about an 18 year old who leaves her family to go to Uganda to help the children there. She adopts 13 young girls and helps whoever is in need. She has founded Amazima, a ministry in Uganda. She is Glamour Magazines's 2012 woman of the year. Recommend to read.
Reviewed by: Kathy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Life's A Beach- George Mahood
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- This book is the sequel to 'Every Day is a Holiday' but in this story, the Mahood family moves from Northhampton to Devon and George does the second half of the year with the assorted holidays associated with each day of the year. Interesting and funny. He begins a cheese challenge (like his ham challenge in the last book) and tells about his family's new life in the town of Devon on the southern coast of England. He ends by giving up his wedding photography business and deciding to be an author. I have one more book to read by Mahood so I hope he comes up with some new ones soon!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Milk and Honey- Rupi Kaur
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Raw and beautifully simple. My friend passed this on to me saying she was like Shel Silverstein- and she is! For the adult woman! I want to keep the tradition alive and pass it on to my friends, to young women entering into womanhood & learning about the big, bad world. Yes, I would definitely recommend it.
Reviewed by: Apolonia from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Ripper: Secret Life of Walter Sickert- Patricia Cornwell
Three Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Felt this was misleading. She is a crime-writer/investigative reporter. She lays out her thesis and then goes through half the book defending it, and then the last half ripping holes through it. Was confused as to whether she really wanted us to take away that he was the Ripper.
Reviewed by: Melissa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Singing Lessons- Judy Collins
Five Star Rating       NonFiction - Biography
- A great read, all about her life, loves, career. Ms. Collins surprised me with her flair for writing. I couldn't put this book down! Fascinating read.
Reviewed by: Amy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Slipknot- Linda Greenlaw
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
- I heard about this author from NH Chronicles recently. Having both read and seen the movie for "The Perfect Storm", I knew this book would interest me, as the author was the female captain in that story. Her knowledge of boats and the fishing industry certainly was apparent in this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Reviewed by: Sandy from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Some Flower- Rita Sackville West
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
- A beautiful discussion of the author's favorite flowers, punctuated by personal commentary and exquisite illustrations.
Reviewed by: Sylvie from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The American Spirit: Who We Are and What We Stand For- David McCullough
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Historian David McCullough pulled together a variety of his speeches, mostly from college graduations, but also from historical events. The author compiled this as a form of self- reflection after the bitter 2016 presidential campaign. Listening to him reading these speeches really help the reader realize that this is not the only time when our country was divided and that there is hope for our future as a country.
Reviewed by: Ellen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Book of Joy- The Dalai Lama and Bishop Desmond Tutu
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- I LOVED this book. Initially I thought it was going to be a book I would read a little bit at a time, but I crushed it in a day and a half. This book, also written by Dan Abrams, is about a week long visit between the Dalai Lama and Tutu. Abrams coordinates the interviews as they share their beliefs , insights and experiences related to happiness. The book exposes their unique friendship and allows the reader to see these two almost mythical individuals as fallible humans we can relate to and learn from. Enjoy! Lisa
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Diary of Sarah Connell Ayers- Sarah Connell Ayers
Three Star Rating       NonFiction -
- This was a bit drudgy but interesting nonetheless. It is the true account of a woman who began journaling her life as a girl until her death in 1835. She was extremely religious and not very tolerant of those who didn't share her beliefs but it is an interesting look at life in New Hampshire in the early 1800s. Spoiler alert....everyone dies!
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Long Haul- Finn Murphy
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- This is a look at long haul trucking across North America. It is such an interesting story filled with odd info on tollbooths, diners, road conditions, and is a wealth of information on the hierarchy of the trucking world. I have a newfound respect for the trucking world, particularly the moving trucker world. The ending is perfect.
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Nepali Flat- Gordon Alexander
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
- This is the story of a young Australian guy hiking for 3 1/2 weeks in Nepal. His final goal is Everest base camp. It's a very interesting story of the Nepalese culture, the awe inspiring beauty of the mountains and a friendship of a trekker and his guide. It's not amazingly well written but is a good adventure story. I didn't know that trekking around Nepal without actually doing Everest (pronounced Eve-rest) was even an option. It's still a very challenging hike.
Reviewed by: Lisa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The Righteous mind- Jonathan Haidt
Four Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Life and society changing stuff in this book. It was a bit overwhelming to read but there are good summaries at the end of each chapter.
Reviewed by: Sarah from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


The secret history of Wonder Woman - Jill Lepore
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Wonder Woman plus! History of the struggle for women's suffrage, reproductive rights, equality, and Wonder Woman's oddball creator and his enabling wife and mistress. Great read!
Reviewed by: Peg from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


This Life I Live:One Man's Ordinary Extaordinary Life And The Woman Who Changed It Forever- Rory Feek
Four Star Rating       NonFiction - Memoir
- Gave it 4 stars because I love biographies and auto biographies however I felt it dragged a little at times especially when giving the background info before they met. Otherwise it was interesting.
Reviewed by: Karen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Trainwreck- Sandy doylr
Five Star Rating       NonFiction -
- I loved this book! Funny, smart writing about women who didn't "behave" and how they are/were punished, centuries ago and now up to the age of Twitter and Instagram. Sexism and misogyny and how they still define us explained in terrific essays about lots of women from Charlotte Bronte to Britney Spears to Hillary Clinton.
Reviewed by: Peg from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Troublemaker- Leah Remini
Three Star Rating       NonFiction -
- Informative, interesting. But definitely has the spin of the author's personality and attitudes. Otherwise worth reading, insightful and eye opening.
Reviewed by: Karen from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Teen Reviews - Sorted by Title

Tell Me Three Things - by Julie Burbaum
Four Star Rating       Teens -
- This was such a "page turner." It was a mystery, love story, and suspense all in one. You wanted to know if Jessie was ever going to meet somebody/ nobody and if it was really the person you the reader wanted him to be.
Reviewed by: Tessa from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)



The Last of August - by Brittany Cavallaro
Three Star Rating       Teens -
- The sequel to "a study in charlotte," a modern twist on Sherlock Holmes. The first book was better. This one was a little convoluted. But, all in all, a good read for Sherlock fans.
Reviewed by: Sarah from Freedom Public Library (New Hampshire)


Children's Reviews - Sorted by Title


All Reviews

12 Sharp - by Janet Evanovich - See Fiction tab...
A Beautiful, Terrible Thing - by Jen Waite - See NonFiction tab...
A Delicate Truth - by John Le Carre - See Fiction tab...
A Man Called Ove - by Fredrik Blackman - See Fiction tab...
A Piece of the World - by Christina Kline Baker - See Fiction tab...
A Piece of the World - by Christina Baker Kline - See Fiction tab...
A Spool of Blue Thread - by Anne Tyler - See Fiction tab...
A Week in Winter - by Maeve Binchy - See Fiction tab...
Anybody Out There. - by Marian Keyes - See Fiction tab...
Anything is Possible - by Elizabeth Strout - See Fiction tab...
Anything is Possible - by Elizabeth Strout - See Fiction tab...
As Time Goes By - by Mary Higgins Clark - See Fiction tab...
Beautiful Dreamer - by Elizabeth Lowell - See Fiction tab...
Before We Were Yours - by Lisa Wingate - See Fiction tab...
Behold the Dreamers - by Imbolo Mbue - See Fiction tab...
Beneath a Scarlett Sky - by Mark Sullivan - See Fiction tab...
Between Them - by Richard Ford - See NonFiction tab...
Blink - by Malcolm Gladwell - See Fiction tab...
Blood and Beauty - by Sarah Dunant - See Fiction tab...
Borderline - by Nevada Barr - See Fiction tab...
Boy Erased- A Memoir of Identity, Death and Family - by Garrard Conley - See NonFiction tab...
Calico Joe - by John Grisham - See Fiction tab...
Calling Invisible Women - by Jeanne Ray - See Fiction tab...
Camino Island - by John Grisham - See Fiction tab...
Chaos - by Patricia Cornwell - See Fiction tab...
Cold Harbour - by Jack Higgins - See Fiction tab...
Commonwealth - by Ann Patchett - See Fiction tab...
Countdown to Pearl Harbor - by Steve Twomey - See NonFiction tab...
Cross My Heart - by Patterson - See Fiction tab...
Deep Freeze - by Lisa Jackson - See Fiction tab...
Devotion - by Adam Makos - See NonFiction tab...
Engaging learners through artmaking. - by Katherine Douglas and Diane Jaquith - See Fiction tab...
Epic of Gilgamesh Poem - by Various - See NonFiction tab...
Every Day is a Holiday - by George Mahood - See NonFiction tab...
Fast Track - by Fern Michaels - See Fiction tab...
First Strike - by Ben Coes - See Fiction tab...
Force of Nature - by CJ Box - See Fiction tab...
Go Set A Watchman - by Harper Lee - See Fiction tab...
Good Grief - by lolly Winston - See Fiction tab...
Guilty - by Karen Robards - See Fiction tab...
Hearts in Atlantis - by Stephen King - See Fiction tab...
Her Father's House - by Belva Plain - See Fiction tab...
Her Final Breath - by Robert Dugoni - See Fiction tab...
Hold Tight - by Harlen Coben - See Fiction tab...
I will Find You - by Joanna Connors - See NonFiction tab...
Into the Water - by Paula Hawkins - See Fiction tab...
Killers of the Flower Moon - by David Grann - See NonFiction tab...
Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders & the Birth of the FBI - by David Grann - See NonFiction tab...
Kisses from Katie - by Katie Davis - See NonFiction tab...
Kisses from Katie - by Katie Davis - See NonFiction tab...
Life's A Beach - by George Mahood - See NonFiction tab...
Lilac Girls - by Martha Kelly - See Fiction tab...
Lisette's List - by Susan Vreeland - See Fiction tab...
London Bridges - by James Patterson - See Fiction tab...
Manuscript Found In Accra - by Paulo Coelho - See Fiction tab...
Milk and Honey - by Rupi Kaur - See NonFiction tab...
Missing ( Private Novel) - by James Patterson and Kathryn Fox - See Fiction tab...
Mississippi Blood - by Greg Isles - See Fiction tab...
Moonlight Mile - by Dennis Lehane - See Fiction tab...
Moonlight Mile - by Dennis Lehane - See Fiction tab...
Most Wanted - by Lisa Scottoline - See Fiction tab...
My (not so) Perfect Life - by Sophie Kinsella - See Fiction tab...
My Foolish Heart - by Susan MAy Warren - See Fiction tab...
My Sister's Grave - by Robert Dugoni - See Fiction tab...
My Sister's Keeper - by Jodi Picoult - See Fiction tab...
Nemesis - by Catherine Coulter - See Fiction tab...
Night School - by Lee Child - See Fiction tab...
Night School - by Lee Child - See Fiction tab...
Off The Grid - by CJ Box - See Fiction tab...
Out of the Ashes - by Michael Morpurgo - See Fiction tab...
POSTCARDS - by Annie Proulx - See Fiction tab...
Private - by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro - See Fiction tab...
Private #1 Suspect - by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro - See Fiction tab...
Private Berlin - by James Patterson and Mark Sullivan - See Fiction tab...
Private Games - by James Patterson and Mark Sullivan - See Fiction tab...
Private London - by James Patterson and Mark Pearson - See Fiction tab...
Ready Player One - by Ernest Cline - See Fiction tab...
Ripper: Secret Life of Walter Sickert - by Patricia Cornwell - See NonFiction tab...
Rose in a Storm - by Jon Katz - See Fiction tab...
Scent of Rain and Lightning - by Nancy Pickard - See Fiction tab...
Short Straw - by Stuart Woods - See Fiction tab...
Singing Lessons - by Judy Collins - See NonFiction tab...
Slipknot - by Linda Greenlaw - See NonFiction tab...
Some Flower - by Rita Sackville West - See NonFiction tab...
Some One Knows my Name - by Lawrence Hill - See Fiction tab...
Sound of Rain and Lightning - by Nancy Pickard - See Fiction tab...
Strangers in Budapest - by jessica keener - See Fiction tab...
Superstition - by Karen Robards - See Fiction tab...
Tell Me Three Things - by Julie Burbaum - See Teens tab...
Thank You For Being Late - by Thomas Friedman - See Fiction tab...
The Alchemist - by Paulo Coelho - See Fiction tab...
The American Spirit: Who We Are and What We Stand For - by David McCullough - See NonFiction tab...
The Birth of Venus - by Sarah Dunant - See Fiction tab...
The Blood of Emmett Till - by Timothy Tyson - See Fiction tab...
The Book of Joy - by The Dalai Lama and Bishop Desmond Tutu - See NonFiction tab...
The Boy On The Wooden Box - by Leon Leyson - See Fiction tab...
The Conviction - by Robert Dugoni - See Fiction tab...
The Diary of Sarah Connell Ayers - by Sarah Connell Ayers - See NonFiction tab...
The Ethical Assassin - by David Liss - See Fiction tab...
The Frozen Hours - by Jeff Shaara - See Fiction tab...
The Hours - by Michael Cunningham - See Fiction tab...
The Hungry Ocean - by Linda Greenlaw - See Fiction tab...
The Identicals - by Elin Hilderbrand - See Fiction tab...
The Keepsake - by Tess Gerritsen - See Fiction tab...
The Last Mile - by David Baldacci - See Fiction tab...
The Last of August - by Brittany Cavallaro - See Teens tab...
The Liar's Diary - by Patry Francis - See Fiction tab...
The Long Black Veil - by JF Boylan - See Fiction tab...
The Long Haul - by Finn Murphy - See NonFiction tab...
The Lucky One - by Nicholas Sparks - See Fiction tab...
The Nepali Flat - by Gordon Alexander - See NonFiction tab...
The One-in-a-Million Boy - by Monica Wood - See Fiction tab...
The One-in-a-Milllion Boy - by Monica Wood - See Fiction tab...
The People We Hate at the Wedding - by Grant Ginder - See Fiction tab...
The Righteous mind - by Jonathan Haidt - See NonFiction tab...
The secret history of Wonder Woman - by Jill Lepore - See NonFiction tab...
The Shack - by Wm Paul Young - See Fiction tab...
The Stars Are Fire - by Anita Shreve - See Fiction tab...
The Sunshine Sisters - by Jane Green - See Fiction tab...
The technologists - by Matthew Pearl - See Fiction tab...
The Trapped Girl - by Robert Dugoni - See Fiction tab...
The Weight of Ink - by Rachel Kiddish - See Fiction tab...
The Winter Sea - by Susanna Kearsley - See Fiction tab...
The Woman in Cabin 10 - by Ruth Ware - See Fiction tab...
The Woman Next Door - by Barbara Delinsky - See Fiction tab...
This Life I Live:One Man's Ordinary Extaordinary Life And The Woman Who Changed It Forever - by Rory Feek - See NonFiction tab...
Three Junes - by Julia Glass - See Fiction tab...
Trade Winds - by M M Kaye - See Fiction tab...
Trainwreck - by Sandy doylr - See NonFiction tab...
Troublemaker - by Leah Remini - See NonFiction tab...
Visions of Sugar Plums - by Janet Evanovich - See Fiction tab...
Void Moon - by Michael Connelly - See Fiction tab...
Voyage of the heart - by Soraya Lane - See Fiction tab...
What Alice Forgot - by Liane Moriarty - See Fiction tab...
When the Emperor was Divine - by Julie Otsuka - See Fiction tab...
Whiskey Beach - by Nora Roberts - See Fiction tab...
Wife for Hire - by Janet Evanovich - See Fiction tab...
X (Kinsey Milhone Book 24) - by Sue Grafton - See Fiction tab...