Reference Databases


There are a lot of databases available to you for free. Some the library pays for, some are available through the state library.

Click on any of the database icons to go to that database.

If you're using the databases in the library, you should be able to access most of the right away. If you're using them from home, you may need to enter your full library card number in order to access them.

Catalogs


NHU-PAC

Adults; Young Adults

A union catalog that contains the holdings of the State Library as well as more than 300 public, school and special libraries in the state. In many instances, the records in the NHU-PAC reflect only those titles acquired by a library since the mid-1980s.

Worldcat

Adults

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals

Genealogy Resources


Ancestry Library Edition

Adults

In library use only

Genealogy software with more than 7,000 available databases with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.

HeritageQuest Online

Adults

No password needed for in-library use. Library patrons can come in to get user name and password for in-home use.

Provides access to 5 resources useful for historical & genealogical research on the US & Canada.

Sources for Adults


NoveList Plus

Adults; Young Adults

A reader's advisory service that provides information and resources on over 100,000 titles, 75,000 full-text reviews, and more than 36,000 subject headings to help locate the best in fiction and non-fiction.

Newspaper Source

Adults; Young Adults

Provides full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns as well as other sources. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.

Explora

Adults; Young Adults

Compiles the results of all adult databases into one user-friendly database.

Includes: Academic Search Premier, Middle Search Plus, TOPICSearch, Newspaper Source, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Health Source - Consumer Edition, MASUltra - School Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Topic Overview Public Libraries

MasterFILE Premier

Adults; Young Adults

Provides full text for over 1,900 periodicals covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.

Academic Search Premier

Adults

Provides full text for more than 3,600 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. This database is updated on a daily basis.

ERIC

Adults

The Educational Resource Information Center contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.

Business Source Premier

Adults

Provides full text for over 1,100 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more.

Medical Sources


PubMed

Adults

Over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Health Source - Consumer Edition

Adults

Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Contains full text for nearly 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.

Medline Plus

Adults

Brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Also contains extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, the latest health news, and surgery videos.

Sources for Youth


NoveList Plus K-8

Children; Young Adults

A reader's advisory service that specifically targets children and young adults. It contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles.

MAS Ultra: School Edition

High School

Provides full text for over 515 general interest and current events magazines.

Middle Search Plus

Middle School

Provides full text for over 145 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and jr. high school students.

Primary Search

Elementary School

Designed specifically for elementary school libraries, this database contains full text for popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, such as endangered species, famous musicians, fitness, space exploration and more.

TOPICSearch

High School; Middle School

Explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. This current events database includes more than 400,000 full-text articles selected by teachers and librarians, an online dictionary, and more than 2,500 diverse reference sources including newspapers, biographies, opinion polls, book reviews and government information.